Third Eye…

I have two types of ‘taken’ male friends. Men whose girlfriends are wonderful and lovely and completely secure in their relationships…

And men whose girlfriends think that even when you’ve been friends with their guys since kindergarten, you still are just holding out for the day they’re single again.

I used to find women like this a real pain in the neck.

Then I bumped into a guy friend and his outrageously amazing lady at Mr Price.

Dude comes at me with a huge hug and a “OMAAGAAD heyyyyyyyy!!!” One of those hugs that go on for long enough to make his girl feel awkward. So, because I’m nice I give her a hug too. I mean there’s enough of me to spread around.

She appreciates the effort. I try hard to make conversation with her and make her feel comfortable. I’d want someone to do that for me.

Dude lunges into a full on diatribe… “So help me clothes shop here! I need your advice! You know me so well. You know what suits me…”

His lady-friend is feeling quite spare. I feel the loathing showered in my general direction.

Errr. I’m not quite sure how to handle this. With sheepskin-lined kid gloves maybe?

I’m surprised that my friend is insensitive to the presence of his girlfriend, and seemingly excluding her from our conversation. They’ve been together for a while; definitely a serious relationship.

He finishes the conversation by saying “Babes we must do a drink sometime, just you and me!”. What?! We never even used to do that, just a drink. Just the two of us. Dude be tripping.

After a few minutes that felt like an eternity, I somehow managed to climb out of the minefield unscathed… Leaving the other-worldly conversation feeling pissed off, embarrassed and disbelieving.

Firstly, I am by no means conceited enough to think that that conversation has anything to do with me. Or how insanely awesome I am. Clearly the man was trying to prove a point to his girlfriend and I happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Which ensures that I now don’t consider that guy so nice anymore. What a jerk.

His strange behaviour made his girlfriend uncomfortable, and I’m sure he would’ve got into some sort of trouble from her later. (At least, I hope so.) Now she probably doesn’t like me, which is a real shame (not only because she has a collection of vintage clothing I was hoping of lending some time in the future).

So this little lesson has been most educational.

Next time I am in a situation like that, I am going to make sure I ask for the girlfriends’ number wayyyy before things get awkward, and invite her to my next girls night out. Yes boyfriends, you should be nervous.

One Response to “Third Eye…”

  1. Too true

Leave a Reply

